• About Us ?

 

 

 

Since 1853

 

ROCAMAT was established in 1853 under the name of Civet Fils et Cie. It became Civet Pommier et Cie in 1989, and Carrières et Scieries de France in 1927. Finally, In 1971, it became ROCAMAT.

Since its inception, the company has been an important producer of limestone for construction.

In 1963, it absorbed the General Society of French Quarries, the former Dubourdieu and Pagani industries, and then the Industrial and Commercial Society of Marble, Stone, and Granite (SICMPG) in 1971.

In 1976, it took over Dervillé Fèvre, a company comprising Dervillé, French Marble (Marbres Français), and Fèvre et Cie.



From quarry to site

 

We are a major player in international construction stone production, and the leading producer of natural stone in France. Rocamat is a company sized and structured be able to work in partnership with you on all of your natural stone projects.
The materials we sell on the market are extracted from our quarries and processed in our factories: stone blocks and slabs, flooring and wall cladding, marble, sawn stone, finely worked stone, etc.
Rocamat’s integration from quarry to site, along with its renowned competence, allow it to play a role as specifier in its market. Rocamat has thus contributed to many major architecture projects, including prestigious buildings in the United States and Asia, and major projects in Paris (the Musée d’Orsay, the Grand Louvre, Bercy, the Eiffel Tower, the Vuitton Foundation, etc.)
With 20% of Rocamat’s revenue coming from exports, we ship our products to five continents for high-end residential projects as well as for architectural projects.

  • 30 limestone quarries in France
  • 4 processing factories
  • 250 employees

 

 


 

Our principals quarries in France

 

                
                

 

Environmentally friendly quarry extraction

 

We extract stone blocks ranging from 2 to 10 m3 from our quarries. The stone blocks are cut either with an electric grinder with a diamond cutting blade, or with a mechanical rock cutter. As the stone is always slightly damp, volatile dust is not generated onsite.
Administrative authorization is required in order to be able to extract from a quarry, and is granted by means of a prefectorial order. This text lays down the conditions under which extraction can be carried out and for restoration of the site after extraction is completed.
Quarry extraction is subject to very strict French laws in the domain: the mining code, the environment code, classified installation regulations, and labor law. A study on the future impact that quarry extraction will have on the environment is required by the French administration in order to obtain authorization for extraction.
The company is particularly vigilant with regard to respecting current laws and regulations, at prefectorial level as well as at the level of legislation inherent to classified installations regulations. ROCAMAT’s compliance with regulations is regularly monitored by the Regional Directorate for Environment, Development and Housing (DREAL).
go to link Impact on surface and ground water : : Prefectorial orders governing quarries located in sensitive areas recommend the use of piezometers, analyses or colorimetric tracking. The company follows these recommendations, and has never been found to be non-compliant. Machines are parked and minor maintenance works carried out in watertight areas within the quarry.
accutane for cheap Impact on the landscape and the human environment : : Impact on the landscape is directly reduced by complying with the restoration stipulations laid down by the prefectorial order. An annual review is carried out on each site and is sent to the administration at least every five years, in the context of updated financial guarantees.
follow link Impact on the natural environment : An inventory of plant and wild life is drawn up as part of the authorization process. If forest clearing is required for extraction, it is governed by a specific clearing authorization issued by the prefecture. Clearing takes place outside of birds’ nesting or reptiles’ egg-laying cycles. Numerous quarries (active or abandoned) have agreements with nature associations (flora, fauna, birds of prey, bats, etc.) and/or with the regional conservatories of natural spaces.
Noise impact : This is measured by an external company on a regular basis; the frequency of these checks is defined by the prefectorial extraction order.
Impact of dust : Our operations generate very little dust.
Impact on waste : In the quarry, materials that are not used in the manufacturing process (rock falls, unsuitable materials), are used either as rock fill or refilling material for public works projects or are kept onsite to help rebuild areas after extraction operations. These co-products are “waste” consisting solely of completely inert mineral material.

 

Our factories in France

 

        
        

 

A clean, humane industry

 

Stone blocks from our quarries are processed in our five specialized factories. The stone is carved using electrically-powered machines. Water is used as cutting fluid. No heating or use of chemical additives is required.

Impact on ground and surface water : The sawing fluid used in production works in a closed circuit. The water used is allowed to settle, or passed through a filter press that separates solid matter from clear water. When it is dry, material from the filter can be used for liming in agriculture. The clean water goes back into the factory circuit. The water is not treated in any way, and is not released into the environment. The CTMNC is currently conducting a study on recycling sawing sludge.
Impact of waste : Rocamat has introduced selective sorting at each of its sites, as well as specific waste disposal systems according to waste type.

Impact on employee safety : The safety department is tasked with reducing workplace accidents, improving working conditions, and managing employees as regards safety through supervisory staff. To this end, a number of tools have been developed and introduced over the past ten years, focusing on :
  • New hire onboarding (procedures and induction booklet),
  • Staff training (OHS, fire, CACES driver safety certificate, actions and posture, electricity, bridge operation, forklifts and pallet trucks etc.),
  • Risk evaluation (a single health and safety document),
  • Annual prevention plan, management of external companies (inspection, prevention plan, etc.),
  • Organizing and conducting periodic checks (hoisting, electricity, etc.)
  • Notices and communication on safety
  • Drafting and placing of job descriptions
  • Provision of suitable personal protective equipment
  • Ensuring conformity of work equipment and vehicles.
We pay particular attention to ergonomic workstations in order to prevent occupational illnesses such as musculoskeletal disorders. All investment projects or installations of new equipment are managed by the “new works” team, in conjunction with industrial management and the safety and maintenance departments. Each workstation fit-out is conducted with the following in mind: improved working conditions, risk prevention, ergonomics, as well as the impact of noise and vibration levels. These projects are then presented to the Hygiene, Safety and Working Conditions Committee for their comments and feedback prior to final acceptance.
Training and safety awareness-raising account for almost 5,000 training hours for the group as a whole each year. 60% of our manufacturing workforce have undergone first-aid training.

• Qui sommes-nous ?

 

 

 

Depuis 1853

 

ROCAMAT a été créée en 1853 sous le nom de Civet Fils et Cie. Elle s’est transformée en Civet Pommier et Cie en 1898, en Carrières et Scieries de France en 1927 et est devenue ROCAMAT en 1971.

Dès l’origine, la société a été un important producteur de pierres calcaires pour la construction.

Elle a absorbé, en 1963, la Société Générale des Carrières Françaises, anciens établissements Dubourdieu et Pagani, puis en 1971, la Société Industrielle et Commerciale des Marbres, Pierres et Granits (SICMPG).

En 1976, elle a pris le contrôle de Dervillé Fèvre, société regroupant Dervillé, Marbres Français et Fèvre et Cie.



De la carrière au chantier

 

Nous sommes un acteur majeur de la production de pierre de construction au niveau international et le premier producteur de pierre naturelle en France. Rocamat est une société dimensionnée et structurée pour vous accompagner dans la réalisation de tous vos projets en pierre naturelle.
Rocamat vend au marché de la construction les matériaux extraits de ses carrières et transformés dans ses usines : Blocs et tranches de pierre, revêtements de sols et de façade, marbrerie, éléments sciés et de taille ouvragée ...
Son intégration de la carrière au chantier et sa compétence reconnue lui permettent de jouer un rôle de prescripteur sur son marché. Ainsi, Rocamat participe à de grandes réalisations architecturales : bâtiments de prestige aux Etats-Unis et en Asie, grands chantiers de Paris (Musée d’Orsay, Grand Louvre, Bercy, Tour Eiffel, Fondation Vuitton…)
ROCAMAT réalise 20% de son chiffre d’affaires à l’exportation, nous acheminons nos produits sur les cinq continents aussi bien pour des projets résidentiels haut de gamme que pour des projets architecturaux.

  • 30 carrières de calcaires en France
  • 4 usines de transformation
  • 300 personnes

Granit Industrie, usine spécialisée dans le granit, située à Jeumont (59) vient compléter le dispositif industriel.

 

 


 

Nos principales carrières en France

 

                
                

 

Une exploitation des gisements respectueuse de l’environnement

 

Nous extrayons des carrières, des blocs de pierre de 2 à 10 m3. Les blocs de pierre sont découpés, soit au moyen de fils diamantés mus par l’énergie électrique, soit par des haveuses mécaniques. La pierre étant toujours légèrement humide, il n’y a aucune génération de poussières volatiles dans sur le site.
L’exploitation d’une carrière nécessite d’obtenir une autorisation administrative, matérialisée par un arrêté préfectoral. Ce texte décrit les conditions d’exploitation et de remise en état du site en fin d’exploitation.
Les exploitations de carrières sont soumises aux lois françaises très strictes en la matière : code minier, code de l’environnement, règlementation des installations classées, code du travail. Une étude d’impacts de la future exploitation de carrière sur l’environnement est exigée par l’administration française pour obtenir une autorisation d’exploiter.
L’entreprise est particulièrement vigilante en matière de respect des lois et règlements qui sont prescrits tant au niveau de l’arrêté préfectoral que de la législation inhérente aux Installations Classées. Le respect des règlementations, par ROCAMAT, est contrôlé régulièrement par la DREAL (Directions Régionales de l’Environnement, de l'Aménagement et du Logement).
Impact sur les eaux superficielles et souterraines : Les arrêtés préfectoraux régissant des carrières situées dans des zones sensibles préconisent la mise en place de piézomètres, d’analyses ou de traçages colorimétriques. La société applique ces recommandations et aucun désordre n’a jamais été observé. Le stationnement et le petit entretien des engins se font sur des aires étanches en carrière.
Impact paysager et sur l’environnement humain : L’impact paysager est directement réduit par le respect des préconisations de remise en état stipulées par l’arrêté préfectoral. Un point annuel est fait site par site et transmis, dans le cadre de la réactualisation des garanties financières, à minima tous les 5 ans à l’administration.
Impact sur le milieu naturel : Dans le cadre des autorisations d’exploiter un inventaire faune et flore est réalisé. Si un défrichement est nécessaire pour la poursuite de l’exploitation, il est régi par une autorisation spécifique de défrichement délivrée par la Préfecture. Les défrichements sont réalisés hors des périodes de nidification des oiseaux ou de pontes des reptiles. De nombreuses carrières (en activité ou abandonnées) font l’objet de convention avec des associations naturalistes (faune, flore, rapaces, chiroptères…) et/ou avec les conservatoires régionaux des espaces naturels.
Impact sonore : Des mesures sont effectuées régulièrement par un cabinet extérieur, la fréquence de ces contrôles est définie dans les arrêtés préfectoraux d’exploitation.
Impact par les poussières : Nos exploitations sont très peu génératrices de poussières.
Impact sur les déchets : En carrière, les matériaux qui n’entrent pas dans notre processus de transformation (chutes de blocs, matériaux inaptes), sont soit en matériaux d'enrochement ou de remblaiement pour les chantiers de travaux publics, soit conservés sur le site pour réaménager les zones exploitées. Ces co-produits sont des « déchets » constitués uniquement de matières minérales totalement inertes.

 

Nos usines en France

 

                
                

 

Une industrie propre et humaine

 

Nous transformons les blocs de pierre provenant de nos carrières dans nos 5 usines spécialisées. La pierre est découpée au moyen de machines mues par l’énergie électrique. Le lubrifiant de coupe est l’eau. Aucune cuisson, aucun additif chimique n’est nécessaire.

Impact sur les eaux souterraines et superficielles : L’eau de sciage, utilisée lors de la fabrication, fonctionne en circuit fermé. L’eau usagée est décantée ou passe dans une presse à boue qui sépare les matières solides, de l’eau claire. Les boues, une fois sèches, peuvent servir d’amendement calcaire pour l’agriculture. L’eau claire repart dans le circuit de l’usine. L’eau ne subit aucun traitement et n’est pas rejetée dans la nature. Une étude sur la valorisation des boues de sciage, est en cours de réalisation au CTMNC (Centre Technique des Matériaux Naturels de Construction).
Impact du fait des déchets : Rocamat a mis en place, sur tous ses sites, un tri sélectif et des filières spécifiques de traitement d’évacuation selon le type de déchets.

Impact sur la sécurité du personnel : Le service Sécurité a pour mission la diminution des accidents du travail, l’amélioration des conditions de travail, le management des salariés en matière de sécurité par l’encadrement de proximité. Pour cela, un certain nombre d’outils a été établi et mis en place depuis une dizaine d’années et porte sur :
  • L’accueil des nouveaux embauchés (procédure et livret d’accueil),
  • La formation du personnel (SST, incendie, CACES, gestes et postures, électricité, pontier, chariots élévateurs, transpalette, CPT, …..),
  • L’évaluation des risques (DSS et document unique),
  • Le plan annuel de prévention, la gestion des entreprises extérieures (inspection, plan de prévention,….),
  • L’organisation et le suivi des vérifications périodiques (levage, électricité,……)
  • L’affichage et la communication sécurité
  • La rédaction et mise en place des fiches de postes
  • La mise à disposition d’équipement de protections individuelles adaptées
  • La mise en conformité des équipements de travail et véhicules.
Nous apportons un soin particulier à l’ergonomie des postes de travail pour prévenir les maladies professionnelles de type TMS (troubles musculo squelettiques). Chaque projet d’investissement ou d’installation de nouveau matériel est géré par le service « travaux neufs » en concertation avec la direction industrielle, les services sécurité et maintenance. Il est systématiquement tenu compte, pour chaque aménagement de poste, de l’amélioration des conditions de travail, de la prévention des risques, de l’ergonomie, ainsi que des impacts dus aux nuisances sonores et vibratoires. Ces projets sont ensuite présentés et commentés auprès des membres du CHSCT afin de recueillir leurs remarques avant validation définitive.
La formation et la sensibilisation sécurité représentent chaque année près de 5000 heures de formation pour l’ensemble du groupe. 60% de notre personnel de production est formé au secourisme.